Must-have Meatloaf

For me, fall and winter means a lot of cooking. While summer has beautiful fruit and veggies, I find that when the sun is bright and warm I am itching to be outside ordering fun food on a patio, instead of cooking healthy meals in front of my stove. But now that the weather has turned cooler and darker, I’m very happy to be home cooking and experimenting with food.

Recently, my husband and I were itching for ground beef. Instead of making the usual hamburgers, I opted to make a meatloaf. Now, I have to say, I’ve not always been a fan of meatloaf. Unlike many friends of mine, it’s not something that was a regular around our family table. Many times when I’ve eaten it, I’ve felt like I was eating a very big blah hamburger without any of the fixings.

So, as I sat down to prepare a meatloaf for our dinner, I wanted it to be as flavourful as possible without going overboard. And – I wanted to use up some things in my fridge.

The result was a very yummy meatloaf. Two thumbs up from Dr. Meatlover (a.k.a. my husband).

Here’s the recipe – I hope that it inspires you to throw together a flavourful hunk of meat of your own!

Porland Must-Meatloaf

1.5 pounds of lean ground beef

3 eggs

1/2 cup bread crumbs

2/3 cup fresh parsley

1/2 cup finely chopped shallots (we had unusually large shallots from the market – if you’re using a normal onion, you’d probably want a full cup)

2 tsp. garlic powder

1 tsp. chili powder

1/2 tsp. salt

1/4 tsp. pepper

1 tbsp. mustard

2-3 tbsp. BBQ sauce

Instructions

Mix together all ingredients, except the BBQ sauce and ~tbsp. parsley, with your hands in a big bowl.

Line a bread pan with parchment paper.

Mould the meatloaf into the pan like you would bread dough.

Cover the top of the meatloaf with the BBQ sauce and then sprinkle the remaining parsley.

Bake, no cover, for 50-60 minutes at 350F.

img_0717

Leave a Reply

