Carrot and Sweet Potato Soup

My husband and I quite like to cook. We really like to eat too. We are what I’d like to call mid-grade-gourmet chefs. We definitely like to spend time in the kitchen, but we aren’t over the top fancy. However we do pride ourselves in making meals from scratch and very rarely eating out of a box. (Unless it is pizza and then I love ordering in boxed food!!)

The internet is made for people like us. So many delicious recipes, food blogs and lots and lots of easy options are posted for all to see, and use, for meals.

This evening is a great example. While at the grocery store this weekend I picked up two big bags of carrots that were on sale and some sweet potatoes. I didn’t have a particular recipe in mind, but I knew that carrots and sweet potatoes would go well together and I was confident I’d find a recipe for soup.

And I was right!

A very quick google search brought up a recipe from http://www.onceuponachef.com for Autumn Carrot and Sweet Potato Soup. The recipe and site is c/o a woman named Jenn Segal. I don’t know her and I’ve never seen her recipes before, so this was a first.

And well, it was a hit!

soup_carrot-and-sweet-potato

I did however make a few tweaks.

Here’s how I changed the recipe:

  • Instead of 8 cups of chicken broth, I used 3 cups of chicken broth and 4 cups of water.
  • Instead of 4 tbsp. of unsalted butter, I used about 3.
  • Instead of 1 tbsp. of curry, I used 1 tbsp. and 1 tsp.
  • Instead of 1-3/4 tsp. salt, I used 1 ½ tsp.
  • I didn’t use any pepper. With the extra curry it was spicy enough.

And…the sign of a good soup? An empty bowl!

soup_carrot-and-sweet-potato_bowl

Leave a Reply

