What would your sibling say about you?

Lucky me – I recently had the chance to contribute to Plenty again! This time however it was with my brother. They did a month-long feature regarding siblings – pieces about people who had lots of kids, twins, why some couples chose not to have more than one kid and some very fun features about siblings talking about their siblings. This is where my brother Gavin and I come in.

They gave us each three questions to answer. We both answered the questions completely independently from each other.

Just before submitting our answers to the team at Plenty, Gav and I shared our answers with each other. I started to get a bit nervous and thought to myself “what if what I wrote offends him?” We shared our answers with each other over email.

I was driving back with my husband from a weekend away at our friends’. I read Gav’s answers in the car. Oh my gosh, did I ever like what he wrote. I laughed and I cried while reading his responses. I don’t know why – but I was both so moved and completely shocked with how well he characterized me and us. I read it to my husband after which I said, “I want this to be read at my funeral!”

The three questions we answered were the following:

  1. What do you love most about your sibling?
  2. What irritates you most about your sibling?
  3. No holds barred: What is the one thing that you wish you could do together?

If you have a sibling, I really recommend that you also participate in this exercise. It made me feel really close to Gav as it reminded me that even though we live far apart and we don’t get to see each other very often, we will always be siblings and he will always know me better than so many other people.

You can read our piece here: Siblings Talk About Each Other

One comment

  1. theluckypennies · August 1

    Thank you so much for sharing!! I have a little brother and although he’s a pain sometimes, he’s also my best friend. This was a great read and I’ll be sure to check out the link you gave.

    Just followed and looking forward to more of your pieces, be sure to check out my blog too!!

    Keep it up!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

