Not so new New Year’s resolutions

Ok, first off I can’t believe that I’ve waited so long to get my second blog post out. I’ve thought about it many times, but then got distracted or discouraged and didn’t do it. No time like the present to get my butt in gear.

I also thought that I’d like to write about the New Year and all that a new year brings, but I didn’t want it to be something that was too cheesy. I also didn’t want to sit down and write fake resolutions about how I was going to change the world or start quilting when I in fact had no intention at all of doing either.

Instead, I’ve been reflecting on what I did RIGHT in 2015. I’ve been thinking of the things that I started doing that have been “good for me” and that have made me happy. Some of these things I did with a lot of intention and others just sorta came to be. Either way, they were positive and I believe I will continue them in 2016.

And here’s what they were.

I started walking to work. Yep, I parked the car and stopped paying for a bus pass and instead walked to work. My walk is ~25 minutes each way. I told myself that I’d do this in the spring, summer and fall, and that I’d stop when it got cold (because that’s just CRAZY). Well, you know what happened? I got crazy and continued walking in December and now January. Yep. I’m one of those people who now walk to work in all temperatures. I now own nerdy spikey boot cover things so I can walk on ice/snow without falling. I’ve even been wearing leg warmers. Oh, if my 17 year old self could see me now.

10157348_10156520646340725_8730179068069604086_n

Live action selfie from a recent walk to work. It was -30 C!

I started watching what I eat. So, much to my dismay, eating whatever you want, when you want, how often you want, doesn’t do a body good. Neither does eating your feelings. This has been a sad discovery. 😛 But it has been a good one too. Since being more mindful of what I put into my body, and no doubt combined with the aforementioned walking, I have lost 25 pounds. That feels really good. And no I have not deprived myself of fabulous food (I regularly eat a chocolate croissant and I love a cold Somersby!).

206

Beautiful rainbow fruit tray!

I have significantly increased the amount of vegetables I eat in my diet and have decreased my consumption of meat. Now this is a bit of a personal values one. I believe I was eating meat because it was easy and simple. But I have been struggling with not knowing where my meat comes from, and more importantly, how the animal was treated in life and in death. I had watched a super interesting Tedx Talk about the psychology of eating animals with Dr. Melanie Joy who wrote “Why We Love Dogs, Eat Pigs, and Wear Cows.” She articulated a lot of the things that I’ve been thinking and feeling. And so, I have made a conscious decision to eat a more plant based diet. Now…I have not eliminated meat, and I’m not sure that I will. But I am trying to learn more about where my food is coming from and making more informed decisions about it. To be honest, this has been one of the hardest things I’ve done lately. The good news is that I’m experimenting with lots of new foods and learning so many new recipes!

318

Goodies from Ottawa farmers’ market!

Created a memory jar. This was something I saw on Pinterest a few years ago. You take a jar, or a box, and write down things that you do or have done throughout the year. Then, on New Year’s Eve or New Year’s Day (or whenever the heck you want), you go through the jar and read through your year. My husband and I had a lot of fun with this. And what was really great is that we kept it up all year. (Well, at least I kept it up all year!) I’d throw in my ticket stub after every event we attended into the jar. When we saw friends or family, I’d jot down a little note about what we did. When my cousin got married I kept one of the wine corks and wrote down the date of the wedding on the cork and threw it in the jar. Sometimes it was a big life event and sometimes it was just a little one, but after a whole year of doing this, we had a jar full of fun memories. On New Year’s Day we sat down with our coffee, while still in our pjs, and took turns reading out a memory from the jar. We liked it so much we’re doing it again this year!

Porland Memory Jar

2015 memory jar

So there you go, that’s what I did in 2015 that I thought was pretty darn good.

I’ll leave you on this note – I do of course have a few new resolutions for 2016. Namely I want to get back into reading books more regularly and I want to declutter my home. Stay tuned on how that goes…

Leave a Reply

